Brawn GP – Barcelona Test Report Day Two


Date Tuesday 10 March
Track Circuit de Catalunya
Driver Rubens Barrichello

No of Laps 111 laps
Best Lap Time 01:20.966
Kilometres Covered 517km
Track Length 4.655km

Weather Overcast morning / Sunny afternoon
Ambient Temperature Maximum 16°C
Track Temperature Maximum 30°C

The Brawn GP team completed a second successful day of testing at the Circuit de Catalunya in Barcelona today as Rubens Barrichello joined the team to take over the testing responsibilities in the BGP 001 car from Jenson Button.

Stepping back into a Formula One car for the first time since the 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix, Rubens began the day with an installation run to ensure he was comfortable with his position in the new chassis. Once achieved, the team’s focus for the remainder of the day was to complete a series of long runs to enable Rubens to evaluate the balance of the car in race conditions.

Rubens completed 111 laps over the day as he posted the third fastest lap on the timesheets. Team-mate Jenson will continue the programme with the BGP 001 car tomorrow before Rubens brings the test to a conclusion on Thursday.

“First of all I would like to thank everyone at Brackley for what has been achieved. After such a long wait for news on the team and for me to have to sit out the past four months, I am so pleased that we have a reliable and fast car straight out of the box. Secondly I am pleased with my physical condition which has enabled me to complete so many laps – 111 in total – on my first day of running. As we are playing catch-up, obviously the more mileage I can do before the first race the better. I am happy that we have got off to a good start here at our first test and we just need to carry that through to the next test in Jerez and Melbourne.”

RESULTS (All timings are unofficial)

Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:20.314 55
2. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1:20.907 66
3. Rubens Barrichello Brawn GP 1:20.966 111
4. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1:21.182 121
5. Mark Webber Red Bull 1:21.347 66
6. Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber 1:21.615 127
7. Adrian Sutil Force India 1:21.834 82
8. Fernando Alonso Renault 1:21.937 111
9. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1:21.991 88
10. Sebastien Bourdais Toro Rosso 1:23.039 14


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s